Tags

, , , ,

Haters? Why would I love the haters?

Well for one thing they keep you motivated, and for another it lets you know you are succeeding versus just wasting your time counting calories, making the right food choices and spending countless hours at the gym and being sore everyday. To me they make the journey worth it.

My biggest hater is my next door neighbor. Now, I love the guy, he’s a good guy, and we give each other a lot of shit. And we are pretty much identical, same age, sense of humor, complete smart-asses and both of us have knee issues. I have osteoarthritis in both knees and he has been dealing with a torn meniscus and recently a tear to the ACL. So aside from swimming laps in a pool, cardio is out of play. Diet and strength condition are in play, mostly diet. Only way to keep the pounds away. So through this journey I have managed to lose 35 pounds and drop 15% body fat. Kind of lands me about 10 pounds heavier than my graduating high school weight.

So here are some of my favorite quotes from my good buddy:

Dude you look great. Very impressed. But you’ll never be able to maintain that shape.

I love how this one starts off all positive than turns at the end. And unfortunately he is probably right. More than likely I will not be able to maintain this routine forever, because life happens and eventually I might not be able to continue. Thing is I’m going to do it as long as I can. I have goals and once I reach those goals, I’m going to continue on to the next goal.

You’re all strutting around your yard like a high school boy.

This one makes me laugh, because I have heard it now about 20 times. No, I am not strutting around my yard like a high school boy. I’m just no longer embarrassed about my gut and it’s over 100 degrees and I’m freaking hot. Plus, I live at the top of a hill covered with trees – no one can see me from the street when I’m working on the house or the area around my house. Only person that might see me is my neighbor and I’m not trying to impress him.

But my favorite is when he is complaining about his weight and I try help.

I’ll work out with you but I’m not doing that crappy diet of yours.

Okay, so my diet is kind of bland and repetitive and has minimal caloric intake, but that is the point. You can’t just workout and expect massive changes. I know, I did it. When I was at my heaviest I was probably also at my strongest. Problem was I wasn’t trying to be strong I was trying to be trim, but I could never lose the weight. Couldn’t lose the weight because i was still on a 3,000 calorie diet that was high in carbs and fats. Now my caloric intake is around 1500 to 2000 calories a day with the majority of those calories coming from protein. Now I love eating out. I love Thai and Indian food especially. So I can go to a restaurant and eat a great curry dish that is exploding with calories, or I can stay at home and make the same dish, minus all of the crap (heavy creams, starches, and corn syrup) and get the meal down to a reasonable 5-600 calories. Still taste great, just takes a lot more time and a little more experimentation in the kitchen.

So I guess my point is let the haters inspire you and not detour you from your goals. And my neighbor is not my only hater. I have other friends and family (even my wife), that say off color things to me on a daily bases. They are not trying to be mean and probably don’t even aware that they are doing it. I view it as their self-defense mechanism to deal with their own insecurities. Whether that is true or not, I don’t know, but you have to come up with some rational to deal with the off color remarks.

And the reason I’m giving my neighbor grief, is because I know that if he reads this post he won’t be all pissy about it, oh but I will hear about it.

Cheers.

