Tags

, , , , ,

So, last weekend was a little bit to much partying and indulgence on all things bad for you. Monday morning I weighed in at 169.5 pounds and was extremely disappointed in myself. It took to much effort to get down to 165 and it is way to easy to put the weight back on.

So since Monday, I have been extremely conscious of my food choices, high protein, tons of vegetables, limited carbs and low fat consumption. This is not very different from my usual diet for the past 3 months. I also completely cut out alcohol.

This is always hard because I love a drink at the end of a stressful day. Especially when work is a complete cluster and apparently will be for the next couple of months. Advertising is a tad stressful, especially when you are the one in charge of the next big idea. Alcoholism is not part of the job description, but it helps.

So getting back to the havoc. To lose 1 lb of flab you have to burn an excess of 3100 calories, kind of hard to do since you have to consume calories in order to have the energy you need to get up and move. You could starve yourself, but that is counter productive and your body goes into defense mode and stops burning fat and begins to retain it, and burning your muscle mass for fuel instead. Why anyone would do this option is beyond me. So the best choice is to eat a low calorie diet that is high in protein and the vitamins that you need and work your butt off in the gym.

So last weekend I had a couple of Pina Coladas – 490 calories per, drank a six pack of a microbrew IPA – 1008 calories, and had a couple of glasses of wine with dinner – 300 calories. Not all in one day, but a very excessive amount of calories, close to 3000 or 1 lb, not to mention my diet went from little to no carbs, to eating out for 4 meals being carb loaded and probably consuming more than 2500 calories per meal. Restaurants are easy and taste great……not a good option when you are watching your diet. Notice, I didn’t say “when you are on a diet”, because I’m not, I just watch what I eat. All of this lead to a gain of 5 lbs in a very short period of time.

So since Monday, I have been back on my 2000 calorie a day diet, an hour at the gym daily and turning down that frosty at the end of the day. And drinking tons of water…..never forget the water. In five days I was able to cut 4 lbs, still a pound heavier than I was on Friday, but i will get it off.

Remember weight is exceptionally easy to add on and extremely difficult to lose. Self control is the key and really lost it last weekend.

cheers.

